No Widgets found in the Sidebar

When does the tournament start and end?

Starts Monday, 16th January 2023

Ends Sunday, 29th January 2023

Tournament details:

The Australian Open, the first Grand Slam of the year is held each year in the last fortnight of January at Melbourne Park. The upcoming edition will take place from January 16 to 29, 2023. This Australian open will be the 111th Australian Open, the 55th in the Open Era. The competition will feature singles, doubles, and mixed doubles matches for professional players. There will be singles and doubles competitions for junior and wheelchair players. Kia is once again the tournament’s primary sponsor. The current champion is Rafael Nadal. 

In addition to trying to become the first male player in the 118-year history of the Australian Open to have ten victories, Novak Djokovic will push to tie Rafael Nadal for the record-extending 22nd Slam overall.

History of the Australian Open:

This massive tennis competition was first held in 1905 and dates all the way back to the late 20th century. The Australian Championship was the title under which the Australian Open was first known until 1969. Earlier, the game was played in a number of Australian cities, but starting in 1987, Melbourne became the chosen venue of play. The Australian Open is a significant tennis competition that has been held in a number of nations, including New Zealand in 1906 and 1912. Warehouseman’s Cricket Ground hosted the first match. Due to its remote geographic location, the Australian Open did not feature any foreign competitors until 1946, when a number of US players flew to Australia.

List of seeds (men’s championship):

SeedPlayer Name
1.Carlos Alcaraz
2.Rafael Nadal
3.Casper Ruud
4.Stefanos Tsitsipas
5.Novak Djokovic
6.Felix Auger-Aliassime
7.Daniil Medvedev
8.Andrey Rublev
9.Taylor Fritz
10.Hubert Hurkacz
11.Holger Rune
12.Alexander Zverev
13.Pablo Carreno Busta
14.Cameron Norrie
15.Jannik Sinner
16.Matteo Berrettini
17.Marin Cilic
18.Denis Shapovalov
19.Frances Tiafoe
20.Karen Khachanov
21.Roberto Bautista Agut
22.Nick Kyrgios
23.Lorenzo Musetti
24.Alex de Minaur
25.Diego Schwartzman
26.Borna Coric
27.Daniel Evans
28.Grigor Dimitrov
29.Miomir Kecmanovic
30.Francisco Cerundolo
31.Alejandro Davidovich Fokina
32.Tommy Paul

List of seeds (women’s championship):

SeedPlayer Name
1.Iga Swiatek 
2.Ons Jabeur
3.Jessica Pegula
4.Caroline Garcia
5.Aryna Sabalenka
6.Maria Sakkari
7.Coco Gauff
8.Daria Kasatkina
9.Veronika Kudermetova
10.Madison Keys
11.Belinda Bencic
12.Paula Badosa
13.Danielle Collins
14.Beatriz Haddad Maia
15.Petra Kvitova
16.Anett Kontaveit
17.Jelena Ostapenko 
18.Ekaterina Alexandrova 
19.Liudmila Samsonova 
20.Elena Rybakina
21.Barbora Krejcikova 
22.Amanda Anisimova
23.Marie Bouzkova
24.Shuai Zhang
25.Victoria Azarenka
26.Qinwen Zheng 
27.Martina Trevisan 
28.Elise Mertens 
29.Aliaksandra Sasnovich 
30.Karolina Pliskova 
31.Kaia Kanepi 
32.Ajla Tomljanovic 

Some interesting facts about the Australian Open:

  1. At the age of 18, Ken Rosewall holds the record for being the youngest champion ever.
  2. Margaret Court holds the record for most female Australian Open championships won. 
  3. Rafael Nadal defeated Fernando Verdasco in 2009 to win the longest tennis match in history.
  4. At age 16, Martina Hingis is the tournament’s youngest female winner.
  5. This competition uses 40,000 tennis balls each year.
  6. Every year, more than 300 ball boys and girls often attend 
  7. A 10% increase from 2017, the total prize money for 2018 is a record $55 million AUD (about 44.5 million USD).

Most decorated men’s championship winners:

NameChampionship Titles 
Novak Djokovic9
Roy Emerson6
Roger Federer6
Andre Agassi 4
Jack Crawford4
Ken Rosewall4
James Anderson3
Rod Laver3

Most decorated women’s championship winners:

NameChampionship Titles 
Margaret Court Smith11
Nancy Wynne Bolton6
Daphne Akhurst Cozens5
Serena Williams5
Evonne Goolagong Cawley4
Steffi Graf4
Monica Seles4
Martina Hingis3

Australian Open Men’s 2023 Outright Winner (odds):

  • Novak Djokovic: 6/4
  • Carlos Alcaraz: 3/1
  • Daniil Medvedev: 7/2
  • Rafael Nadal: 8/1
  • Jannik Sinner: 12/1
  • Nick Kyrgios: 12/1
  • Alexander Zverev: 14/1
  • Stefanos Tsitsipas: 14/1
  • Dominic Thiem: 20/1
  • Felix Auger-Aliassime: 20/1

Australian Open Women’s 2023 Outright Winner (odds):

  • Iga Swiatek: 2/1
  • Naomi Osaka: 8/1
  • Ons Jabeur: 11/1
  • Aryna Sabalenka: 14/1
  • Paula Badosa: 14/1
  • Caroline Garcia: 16/1
  • Cori Gauff: 16/1
  • Elena Rybakina: 20/1
  • Emma Raducanu: 20/1
  • Maria Sakkari: 20/1

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *